Men Behind Chandrayaan-3: best Visionaries Leading India’s Lunar Endeavor

Share it

Men Behind Chandrayaan-3
(Image Source: Google| Image By- Live Post) Men Behind Chandrayaan-

Meet the Men Behind Chandrayaan-3:

As the clock struck 1.05 pm on Thursday, July 13, the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) commenced the countdown for Chandrayaan-3, India’s highly anticipated third lunar exploration mission. With over 17,000 employees eagerly awaiting the historic event, the excitement and nervous anticipation were palpable.

Chandrayaan-3 marks India’s second attempt to achieve a soft landing on the moon’s surface, following the footsteps of its predecessors in the Chandrayaan series. As the nation gears up for this ambitious endeavor, only three countries – the United States, Russia, and China – have successfully landed spacecraft on the airless lunar terrain.

Before the countdown commenced, Dr. S Somanath, the esteemed ISRO chairman, and a team of key scientists paid a visit to the Tirupati Venkatachalapathy temple. There, they carried a miniature model of Chandrayaan-3, seeking divine blessings for the mission’s success.

Now, let’s take a closer look at some of the remarkable individuals behind the Chandrayaan-3 mission:

1. S Somanath – ISRO Chairman:
S Somanath is a prominent figure behind India’s ambitious lunar missions. Having served as the director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre and the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre, he played a crucial role in the development of rocket technologies for ISRO. Under his leadership, missions like Chandrayaan-3, Aditya-L1 (sun mission), and Gaganyaan gained significant momentum.

2. P Veeramuthuvel – Project Director, Chandrayaan-3:
As the Project Director for Chandrayaan-3 since 2019, P Veeramuthuvel brings invaluable technical acumen to the mission. Before assuming his current position, he held the esteemed role of deputy director in the space infrastructure programme office at ISRO headquarters. Additionally, he made significant contributions to the Chandrayaan-2 mission, where he played a crucial part in handling critical negotiations with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Hailing from Villupuram, Tamil Nadu, Veeramuthuvel is an alumnus of the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology-Madras.

3. Unnikrishnan Nair – Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre:
The Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) at Thumba in Kerala’s Thiruvananthapuram district played a pivotal role in developing the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) Mark III, later renamed the Launch Vehicle Mark-III. Heading VSSC, S Unnikrishnan Nair and his team are responsible for several crucial aspects of the Chandrayaan-3 mission.

4. A Rajarajan – Chairman, Launch Authorisation Board:
A Rajarajan, a distinguished scientist, currently serves as the director of the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota, India’s principal spaceport. With expertise in composites, Rajarajan’s priorities revolve around solid motor production and launch complex infrastructure. The Launch Authorisation Board, headed by Rajarajan, holds the key to give the final green signal for the launch.

5. M Sankaran – Director, U R Rao Satellite Centre:
M Sankaran Became Director of the U R Rao Satellite Centre in June 2021. This center holds a vital position in India’s space endeavors, responsible for the design, development, and realization of all ISRO satellites. Sankaran’s leadership ensures that the satellite fraternity meets the nation’s requirements in various domains like communication, navigation, remote sensing, meteorology, and inter-planetary exploration.

As the countdown progresses, India’s scientific community, led by these exceptional individuals, stands united in their determination to make Chandrayaan-3 a resounding success. The mission embodies India’s unwavering commitment to exploring the uncharted territories of space, leaving an indelible mark on the history of space exploration. The world watches with bated breath as India’s space odyssey enters a new chapter with Chandrayaan-3.

Read More About Chandrayan 3: Click Here

Read More About Space: Click Here

Share it
Scroll to Top